Canadian Team Win Medals in 2019 IMO

The Canadian Math Team placed well at the The 60th International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO).  The six team members all won medals with more than 600 high school student competing all across the world.

One of our faculty members, Jacob Tsimerman, is the Chair of the IMO committee and is “incredibly proud of our team’s brilliant performance.” Tsimerman added: “The IMO is the apex of competitive mathematics at the high school level, and our students have represented our country incredibly well.”

The team results are as follows:

  • Victor Rong [Toronto], Marc Garneau Collegiate Institute, Toronto, ON – Gold medal
  • Howard Halim [Toronto], University of Toronto Schools, Toronto, ON – Silver medal
  • Thomas Guo [Markham], Phillips Exeter Academy, Exeter, NH, USA – Bronze medal
  • David Tang [Toronto], University of Toronto Schools, Toronto, ON – Bronze medal
  • Sebastian Jeon [New Jersey], Bergen County Academies, Hackensack, NJ, USA – Bronze medal
  • William Zhao [Richmond Hill], Richmond Hill High School, Richmond Hill, ON – Bronze medal

The full press release can be found here:

Jim Arthur and George Elliott join the CMS Second Inaguaral Class of Fellows

Jim Arthur and George Elliott become fellows of the CMS’s Second Inaugural Class of Fellows.

The press release from CMS can be found here.

Catherine Sulem is the 2019 recipient of the AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture prize

Catherine Sulem is the 2019 recipient of the AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture prize.

The joint AWM-SIAM prize was established in 2002 and it is awarded to a female researcher in the scientific or engineering community whose work highlights the achievements of women in applied and computational mathematics.

Sulem will present her prize lecture at the 9th International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM 2019).

More on the story can be found here.

Jeremy Quastel named the recipient of the 2019 Jeffery-Williams Prize

The department congratulates Prof. Jeremy Quastel for being named the recipient of the 2019 Jeffery-Williams Prize. Quastel will receive the award during the CMS Summer Meeting in Regina, Saskatchewan, June 7-10, 2019.

The media release can be accessed here.

The Jeffery-Williams Prize is awarded annually since 1968 and it recognizes mathematicians who have made outstanding contributions to mathematical research.

For more information on past recipients, please visit Jeffery-Williams Prize

James G. Arthur appointed as a Companion of the Order of Canada

The department congratulates James Arthur for being appointed as a Companion of the Order of Canada.  The Order of Canada honours people who make extraordinary contributions to Canada.  To be named a Companion is the highest honour in the Order and it recognizes national pre-eminence or international service or achievement. Arthur is being recognized for “his seminal contributions to contemporary mathematics, notably through his groundbreaking advancements to the theory of numbers’ trace formula.” Source: News Release on “New Appointments to the Order of Canada”, December 27, 2018.

More on the story can be found here.


Joel Kamnitzer awarded a 2018 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship

The Department is proud to announce that Professor Joel Kamnitzer is one of the winners of the 2018 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship. NSERC awards up to six E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships annually to enhance the career development of outstanding and highly promising scientists and engineers who are faculty members of Canadian universities.

Joel’s achievement is also featured in a U of T news article:

Three faculty, Haslhofer, Shankar, and Tiozzo awarded 2018 Sloan Research Fellowships

The department is pleased to announce that three of our faculty, Robert Haslhofer, Arul Shankar, and Giulio Tiozzo are recipients of the 2018 Research Sloan Fellowships!

The fellowships are awarded annually since 1955 by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. More information about the Sloan Research Fellowships can be found here. The full list of this year’s Sloan Fellows can be found here.