New Royal Society Fellow – Catherine Sulem

The department is proud to announce that Professor Catherine Sulem has been announced as a new member of the Royal Society of Canada in the Mathematical and Physical Sciences.

From the Royal Society: “Catherine Sulem is one of Canada’s most prominent and productive applied mathematicians. Her research on nonlinear waves has made deep and lasting contributions to ocean wave dynamics, to stability theory for nonlinear optical systems, to magneto-hydrodynamics and to plasmas. Her predictions of singularities in optical fibres are internationally recognized as a major achievement. Her work presents the highest standards of mathematical analysis and its physical applications.”

The full announcement can be read here:

2015 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize Awarded

Our congratulations go to Professor Jacob Tsimerman who was awarded the 2015 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize recognizing young mathematicians whose work is influenced by mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan.

In honour or Ramanujan the award, established in 2005, is only presented to mathematicians under the age of 32 which was the age Ramanujan sadly passed away at.

Professor Tsimerman is being honoured for his work in making “deep and highly original contributions to diverse parts of number theory, and most notably to the famous Andre-Oort Conjecture. He is one of the few mathematicians to have complete mastery over two very different areas of mathematics – analytic number theory and algebraic geometry.”

Further information on the award and it’s history can be found here:

2015 Award Winners and Scholarship Recipients

The Department would like to congratulate the following 2015 award winners and scholarship recipients:

Frederick V. Atkinson Teaching Award (excellence in teaching by Postdoctoral Fellows):

  • Nicholas Hoell (working with Adrian Nachman)
  • Geoffrey Scott (working with Marco Gualtieri)

Daniel B. DeLury Teaching Awards (excellence in instruction for graduate students in mathematics):

  • Yuri Cher, student of Catherine Sulem
  • Ali Mousavidehshikh, student of Ragnar Buchweitz
  • Yuan Yuan Zheng, student of Stevo Todorcevic
  • Trefor Bazett, student of Lisa Jeffrey/Paul Selick

Vivekananda Graduate Scholarship (academic excellence in graduate studies for international students):

  • Benjamin Briggs, student of Ragnar Buchweitz

We thank the faculty members, undergraduate students and course instructors who took the time to submit their nominations.  We have many excellent instructors and teaching assistants who are hardworking and regularly inspire and challenge their students.

The department held a ceremony in the Math lounge on Thursday, June 11, 2015 at 3:00 p.m.  to celebrate.  At this same ceremony we also took the opportunity to honor our graduating master’s and doctoral students.  - (photos coming soon)

Congratulations once again to Nicholas, Geoffrey, Yuri, Ali, Yuan Yuan, Trefor and Benjamin!  And very best wishes to our graduating class!

UofT Math Graduate Co-Winner of 2015 CMS Doctoral Prize

Yuval Filmus, who completed his PhD in 2013 for his thesis Spectral methods in extremal combinatorics at the University of Toronto, was recently awarded the 2015 CMS Doctoral Prize along with Hector H. Pasten Vasquez (Queen’s University).

This is the first time the award was given to two recipients which speaks to the quality of both their work.

Further information on the award, this year’s recipients and the CMS can be found here:

Congratulations to both Yuval and Hector on this prestigious award.

Sloan Awards

The department is proud to announce the results of this year’s  Sloan competition with two of our colleagues receiving an award!

The Department wishes to send a hearty congratulations to Jacob Tsimerman and Hau-tieng Wu.

The Sloan fellowships are meant to recognize early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise. Only 126 awards were made this year.

More details about the fellowships can be found at:

Professor James G. Arthur Winner of the 2015 Wolf Prize in Mathematics


photo credit: Diana Tyszko

Our congratulations to Professor James Arthur, University Professor and Ted Mossman Chair, for being awarded the 2015 Wolf Prize in Mathematics.

Jim received the prize for “his monumental work on the trace formula and his fundamental contributions to the theory of automorphic representations of reductive groups.”

It is only the second time that any Canadian has won it in Mathematics (the first being Robert Langlands of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton). Moreover, Jim is the first Canadian to win it who did his work in Canada.

The citation and complete announcement has been posted on the Wolf Foundation website:

Hearty congratulations to Professor Arthur on this tremendous achievement!

Update: the UofT Arts and Science News did an article on this as well here:

2014 John L. Synge Award

The department is pleased to announce that Bálint Virág is the recipient of the 2014 John L. Synge Award awarded by the Royal Society of Canada for his outstanding research. The John L. Synge Award is named in honour of the late John Lighton Synge, FRS, FRSC, one of the first mathematicians working in Canada to obtain international recognition through research in mathematics and was a Professor at the University of Toronto from 1920 to 1925.

Bálint will be honoured at the 2014 RSC Induction and Awards Ceremony in Quebec City. The complete announcement has been posted on the RSC website here.

The Department extends a hearty congratulations to Professor Virag.