AMS Centennial Research Fellowship for 2011-12 Winner

Professor George Elliott’s former PhD student, Andrew Toms, now at Purdue, has been awarded this year’s AMS Centennial Research Fellowship.

The Purdue announcement can be found here.

In Memory

It is with great sadness that we report the death of Daryl Geller, professor of mathematics at the State University of New York at Stony Brook and former University of Toronto mathematics specialist. Daryl grew up in Toronto and attended the University of Toronto as a mathematics specialist winning many awards including high placements on the Putnam Competition. Upon his graduation in 1972 he attended Princeton University obtaining his Ph.D. in 1976 under the supervision of Elias Stein.

Alumni Awarded Artin Junior Prize

Dr. Hrant Hakobyan, a University of Toronto, Department of Mathematics postdoctoral fellow from July 2007 to June 2010 with Professor Ilia Binder, has been awarded the 2010 Emil Artin Junior Prize in Mathematics.
An excerpt from the AMS notices posting: Hrant Hakobyan of Kansas State University has been awarded the 2010 Emil Artin Junior Prize in Mathematics.

Established in 2001, the Emil Artin Junior Prize in Mathematics carries a cash award of US$1,000 and is presented usually every year to a student or former student of an Armenian university under the age of thirty-five for outstanding contributions to algebra, geometry, topology, and number theory—the fields in which Emil Artin made major contributions”

The full article can be found here:

Our congratulations go to Dr. Hakobyan on this accomplishment.

2010 Malcolm Slingsby Robertson Prize Awarded

Congratulations go to Dr. Ian Zwiers as the winner of this year’s Malcolm Slingsby Robertson prize.  This prize is awarded to a graduating PhD student who has demonstrated excellence in research.

Dr. Zwiers’ research was in the area of Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations under the supervision of Professor James Colliander.  His thesis was entitled “Standing ring blowup solutions for the cubic nonlinear Schrödinger equation”.

Dr. Zwiers’ is now a postdoctoral fellow at the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences in Vancouver.

Our congratulations go to Dr. Zwiers and we wish him all the best in his future endeavors.

Spring Reunion 2010

Professor Kumar Murty (Chair of the Math Department) and Event Participants

Professor Kumar Murty (Chair of the Math Department) and event participants introduce themselves and tell a bit about their backgrounds

This past Saturday (May 29th) the University of Toronto held it’s Spring Reunion for Alumni who graduated in a year ending in 0 or 5. The Math Department held it’s own event as part of it entitled “A Celebration of Mathematics”. The turn-out was good and participants were treated to a series of three lectures from three distinct speakers.

Participants heard a brief history of the Department from Professor Kumar Murty, Chair.  They then heard from one of the department’s undergraduate specialist math students and head of the undergraduate math union.  The final talk was a brief taste of Professor Jeremy Quastel’s upcoming International Congress of Mathematics (ICM) talk.

More information on the event, along with more pictures, can be found at:

Scholarship Winners and Donors Honoured

On March 31st, staff, faculty, alumni and students gathered in Hart House to celebrate recent scholarship winners and donors.  The Mathematics Department was proud to celebrate this event with a number of outstanding scholarship winners from the department as well as Professor George Elliott, an honoured donor.

Mathematics Scholarship Winners, Donor Professor George Elliott, Chair Kumar Murty and Dean Meric Gertler

Mathematics Scholarship Winners, (far right) Professor George Elliott (Donor), (center right) Professor Kumar Murty (Chair of Mathematics Department) and (center left) Professor Meric Gertler (Dean of Arts and Science)

Former Students Win Prestigious Awards

Two former students of Professor Askold Khovanskii have won significant awards in Mathematics.

Valentina Kiritchenko

Valentina Kiritchenko was one of 3 winners of the
2009 Dynasty Foundation Award

Vladelen Timorin

Vladlen Timorin was one of 2 winners of the
2009 Pierre Deligne Award.

From their websites: “The Pierre Deligne Contest is a competition of young mathematicians of Russia, Ukraine and Byelorussia. The contest winner is awarded a three-year research grant. The aim of the contest is to help young mathematicians to carry out scientific research staying in their home countries. It was established in 2005 to support the most active young mathematicians working in Russia, Ukraine and Byelorussia. Any person not older than 35 who has a PhD in mathematics and lives in any of the countries: Russia, Ukraine, Byelorussia, is eligible for the competition.”

The Dynasty Foundation contest for young mathematicians takes place in parallel with the Pierre Deligne Contest and pursues the same goals.

The department sends it’s warmest congratulations to both of them and wishes them all the best!