2015 Award Winners and Scholarship Recipients

The Department would like to congratulate the following 2015 award winners and scholarship recipients:

Frederick V. Atkinson Teaching Award (excellence in teaching by Postdoctoral Fellows):

  • Nicholas Hoell (working with Adrian Nachman)
  • Geoffrey Scott (working with Marco Gualtieri)

Daniel B. DeLury Teaching Awards (excellence in instruction for graduate students in mathematics):

  • Yuri Cher, student of Catherine Sulem
  • Ali Mousavidehshikh, student of Ragnar Buchweitz
  • Yuan Yuan Zheng, student of Stevo Todorcevic
  • Trefor Bazett, student of Lisa Jeffrey/Paul Selick

Vivekananda Graduate Scholarship (academic excellence in graduate studies for international students):

  • Benjamin Briggs, student of Ragnar Buchweitz

We thank the faculty members, undergraduate students and course instructors who took the time to submit their nominations.  We have many excellent instructors and teaching assistants who are hardworking and regularly inspire and challenge their students.

The department held a ceremony in the Math lounge on Thursday, June 11, 2015 at 3:00 p.m.  to celebrate.  At this same ceremony we also took the opportunity to honor our graduating master’s and doctoral students.  - (photos coming soon)

Congratulations once again to Nicholas, Geoffrey, Yuri, Ali, Yuan Yuan, Trefor and Benjamin!  And very best wishes to our graduating class!