Professor James G. Arthur Winner of the 2015 Wolf Prize in Mathematics


photo credit: Diana Tyszko

Our congratulations to Professor James Arthur, University Professor and Ted Mossman Chair, for being awarded the 2015 Wolf Prize in Mathematics.

Jim received the prize for “his monumental work on the trace formula and his fundamental contributions to the theory of automorphic representations of reductive groups.”

It is only the second time that any Canadian has won it in Mathematics (the first being Robert Langlands of the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton). Moreover, Jim is the first Canadian to win it who did his work in Canada.

The citation and complete announcement has been posted on the Wolf Foundation website:

Hearty congratulations to Professor Arthur on this tremendous achievement!

Update: the UofT Arts and Science News did an article on this as well here: