Malcolm Slingsby Robertson Prize Winners

The awards subcommittee of the Graduate Committee decided on the recipients for the 2013 Malcolm Slingsby Robertson Prize in Mathematics for “a graduating PhD student who has demonstrated excellence in research“. The theses and external examiner reports of several excellent graduating students were considered.

The department is happy to announced that this year’s winners are:

Brent Pym and Shibing Chen

Brent’s thesis on “Poisson structures and Lie algebroids in complex geometry” was written under the supervision of Marco Gualtieri; the thesis contains three separate remarkable results which earned him a three-year Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Oxford.

Shibing’s thesis on “Convex solutions to the power-of-mean curvature flow, conformally invariant inequalities and regularity results in some applications of optimal transportation” was written under the supervision of Robert McCann. During the course of his doctorate, Shibing produced five results on his own. He is currently an MSRI Postdoctoral Fellow.

The prize carries a $350 monetary award. We congratulate Brent and Shibing for their excellent work and wish them great success!